It’s a Beautiful Day

sky2 This weekend .Wow. Awesome.

I spent Friday morning playing golf with my boy James Hayes. I told him a couple times how much I was enjoying the day ie., how brilliantly blue the sky was, low humidity, perfect temp., a cool breeze blowing. You know what I’m talking about. I told him how many times I’d stuck my head outside while at work and said to myself: this would be an awesome day to be out on the golf course. Well, here I was and I wasn’t going to  waste it or fail to savor it.

Then Sat afternoon. Man, what another beautiful day! Same as Friday. A little hotter but just as beautiful. I was sitting in my funky, back-killer of a  fold able ball park chair. The one that sweats you to death. Anyway, I was sitting there at Twitty City from about 1:00 Pm till about 4:30  watching Raleigh’s Goodpasture Jr High baseball team play. I was  there with our man-group down in the Amen corner (until Kellye tried to break the gender barrier and got me briefly ostracized) with my boys Danny Wiseman, Bill Moffitt, Mr. Wiseman, Roger Crocker, Brad  Bivens and Tommy Macelheny.

chair

U2  has a song called Beautiful Day. I was on a kick there for awhile where I’d play that song every morning as I’d get ready. Just to get in a positive mood. Here’s the words:

The heart is a bloom
Shoots up through the stony ground
There’s no room
No space to rent in this town

You’re out of luck
And the reason that you had to care
The traffic is stuck
And you’re not moving anywhere

You thought you’d found a friend
To take you out of this place
Someone you could lend a hand
In return for grace

It’s a beautiful day
Sky falls, you feel like
It’s a beautiful day
Don’t let it get away

You’re on the road
But you’ve got no destination
You’re in the mud
In the maze of her imagination

You love this town
Even if that doesn’t ring true
You’ve been all over
And it’s been all over you

It’s a beautiful day
Don’t let it get away
It’s a beautiful day

Touch me
Take me to that other place
Teach me
I know I’m not a hopeless case

See the world in green and blue
See China right in front of you
See the canyons broken by cloud
See the tuna fleets clearing the sea out
See the Bedouin fires at night
See the oil fields at first light
And see the bird with a leaf in her mouth
After the flood all the colors came out

It was a beautiful day
Don’t let it get away
Beautiful day

Touch me
Take me to that other place
Reach me
I know I’m not a hopeless case

What you don’t have you don’t need it now
What you don’t know you can feel it somehow
What you don’t have you don’t need it now
Don’t need it now
Was a beautiful day

I like the words:   Reach me, I’m not a hopeless case.

Jesus says in Matthew 5:45

“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous.

Jesus was telling the truth you know. There were lots of  really evil, mean, ungrateful, atheistic people who enjoyed this weekend’s weather just as much as I did. But here’s what I said that they didn’t:

Praise You LORD for Your wonderful love for us, and for Your marvelous Creativity.

2 Responses to “It’s a Beautiful Day”

  1. Danny Wiseman Says:

    Beautiful day by U2 is one of my favorite songs, and it was a beautiful day! Nothing better than watching the boys play baseball and hanging with my buddies in amen corner drinking ice tea, milk shakes, and eating hamburgers, fries and peanuts! We missed you Tuesday night as we introduced hot fudge cakes to amen corner. Bill Moffitt really liked the hot fudge cake and Jesse continued to ask for a milk shake! (in the dug out) Your chair is quite impressive, but for comfort you should really look for a classic 1987 aluminum chair like I have. Maybe one day we can move up to the Executive chair that Rodger Crocker has. We are truly blessed!

  2. mccoolio Says:

    Danny, Twitty City needs to be featured on one of Food Network’s shows. Talk about a crazy thing. It’s like having O’Charley’s at your local Little League park. Instead of seeing people come back from the concession stand with a dog and coke, you see people coming back with massive, creamy shakes with whipped cream and cherries, 2 inch thick burgers, 1/2 lb containers of fat, crispy fries, or big 64 oz cups of sweet tea. Wow. Praise to you, Mr Lavender. This great old man of Nashville baseball knows what we like: beautiful spring days spent with good buddies in the amen corner, eating like kings, laughing, spitting, slamming on each other, the other team’s coaches, our coaches, and watching our boys play the game of baseball.
    Yes, build it and they will come!!And they’ll walk out to the bleachers, and sit in shirt-sleeves on a perfect afternoon. They’ll find they have reserved seats somewhere along one of the baselines, where they sat when they were children and cheered their heroes. And they’ll watch the game, and it’ll be as if they’d dipped themselves in magic waters. The memories will be so thick, they’ll have to brush them away from their faces.

Leave a Reply

