Murphy’s Law

murphys2I guess all of us think about Murphy’s Law every now and then. I guess I think about it most when I’m in my sock drawer. I’m kind of picky about my dress socks. I’ve liked socks with a little pizazz, little colorful designs,etc., especially nothing traditional, for a good while. This style was popular about 5 years ago and hasn’t come back yet. (I can’t even begin to understand why not. Does anyone know where I can get such socks? Every time I go into a men’s store, I head straight for the socks but to no avail. They have to come back into style. So, anyway, I have about 5 pair that I really like, about one pair each for the different color slacks I have. Well, one of Murphy’s Laws has claimed one each of 3 pairs of the 5. It was all five until I offered a large reward ($5) and 2 socks were found in various locations around the house.

I really couldn’t find one of Murphy’s Laws that really fit the sock situation perfectly so I postulated my own:

McCool’s Law of Socks and Diminishing Returns   The probability of losing one sock of a pair is much greater than losing both. (Duh, but it had to be said) The probability of losing that one sock of a pair greatly increases with the popularity of said sock. The chances of finding the lost sock(s) increases two tenfold with the presence of each of the following factors: washing machines, dryers, other people of the same sex  living in the same house, other people of the same sex  living in the same house who have lots of clothes they rarely access, other people of the same sex  living in the same house who, if they stumble across your sock(s) in their stuff, don’t think a thing about it, push it aside (or to the bottom of the drawer) and never mention it.

I’m not a pessimist by nature. But you can still be an optimist but not have your head stuck in the sand.Things can go south very, very quickly. I also  realize that most good things are achieved through a lot of hard work and usually nothing good comes easy, and in most things, as my cuz Christopher would say “The only easy day was yesterday”.

I assume Murphy was one of Adam’s children or maybe he was actually Adam himself. I can’t find in Genesis that Adam had a son named Murphy. OK, it was probably Adam’s nickname. But you know Adam knew about these laws. They had to have appeared in history concurrent with the apple episode. One day Adam can always find his socks then he and Eve mess up big time, then all of a sudden 3 single socks are gone. Wait a minute, he didn’t have socks before……

I guess all this is caused by the second law of thermodynamics: entropy, which is  the amount of disorder and/or chaos in a thermodynamic system. It refers to changes in the  system and measures “molecular disorder”. But I’d be willing to bet tons of money that there was no entropy before “the fall”. I’d also be willing to bet that when Adam and Eve caused the ultimate downfall of creation and God cursed the ground  that entropy snuck in the backdoor into being.

Here’s some of my favorites from this Murphy’s Laws site:  http://www.murphys-laws.com/murphy/murphy-laws.html

If you perceive that there are four possible ways in which a procedure can go wrong, and circumvent these, then a fifth way, unprepared for, will promptly develop.

Nature always sides with the hidden flaw.

It is impossible to make anything foolproof because fools are so ingenious.

All things are possible except skiing through a revolving door

Murphy’s Law of Thermodynamics    Things get worse under pressure.

Quantization Revision of Murphy’s Laws     Everything goes wrong all at once.
Murphy’s Constant     Matter will be damaged in direct proportion to its value
Law of the Perversity of Nature      You cannot successfully determine beforehand which side of the bread to butter.
Corollary         The chance of the bread falling with the buttered side down is directly proportional to the cost of the carpet.
O’Toole’s Commentary     Murphy was an optimist.
Beifeld’s Principle: The probability of a young man meeting a desirable and receptive young female increases by pyramidal progression when he is already in the company of (1) a date, (2) his wife, and (3) a better looking and richer male friend.
Berra’s Law:  You can observe a lot just by watching.
One Response to “Murphy’s Law”

  1. Schmoffly Says:

    I was reading through them and I noticed one that I have particularly found true in the past:

    “After all is said and done, a heck of a lot more is said than done.”

    True dat

Leave a Reply

