Does a Wild Bear Poop in Your House?

My friend Josh Moffitt at  schmoffly.wordpress.com  has a ” Philosophy ” Thursday and it’s pretty cool so I decided to do ” Poetry” Tuesday. So here’s the first installment: Destruction by Joanne Kyger 1934. Word spacing is per original poem.

Destruction

Destruction by Joanne Kyger

First of all do you remember the way a bear goes through
a cabin when nobody is home? He goes through
the front door. I mean really goes through it. Then
he takes the cupboard off the wall and eats a can of lard.

He eats all the apples, limes, dates bottled decaffeinated
coffee and 35 pounds of granola. The asparagus soup cans
fall to the floor. Yum! He chomps up Norwegian crackers
stashed for the winter. And the bouillon, salt, pepper,
paprika, garlic, onions, potatoes.

He rips the Green Tara
poster from the wall. Tries the Coleman Mustard. Spills
The ink, tracks in the flour. Goes up stairs and takes
a dump. Rips open the water bed, eats the incense and
drinks the perfume. Knocks over the Japanese tansu
and the Persian miniature of a man on horseback watching
a woman bathing.

Knocks Shelter, Whole Earth Catalogue,
Planet Drum, Northern Mists, Truck Tracks, and
Women’s Sports into the oozing water bed mess.

He goes down stairs and out the back wall. He keeps on   a long way and finds a good cave to sleep it all off.Luckily he ate the whole medicine cabinet, including   LSD, Peyote, Psilocybin, Amanita, Benzedrine, Valium and aspirin.

I like this poem. This bear is passionate about his food. A trait I admire in anyone. I also find mucho humor in anything involving animals. Just ask my family. It doesn’t take much to entertain me, I guess. .Just give me any animal within view of my car as I go by and I’m going to notice them. Not only will I notice them but I will also: honk, shout, swerve, squeal, holler, stop, start, or just about anything to get some kind of reaction from the dumb brutes. If I do, I am  usually satisfied for a good while. Anyway, tell me what you like or dislike about this poem and also include  a favorite poem of yours.

2 Responses to “Does a Wild Bear Poop in Your House?”

  1. Haha, yes! Poetry Tuesday…I like it! I am pretty sure I have been in a car with you when you noticed an animal and pretty much did as you said to get its attention. My favorite poem? Hmmmm…not sure I have one. But if I did, it would be the Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll (Who by the way was a mathematician, but 99% of people know him only as the author of Alice in Wonderland)

    ‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
    Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
    All mimsy were the borogoves,
    And the mome raths outgrabe.

    “Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
    The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
    Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
    The frumious Bandersnatch!”

    He took his vorpal sword in hand:
    Long time the manxome foe he sought—
    So rested he by the Tumtum tree,
    And stood awhile in thought.

    And as in uffish thought he stood,
    The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame,
    Came whiffling through the tulgey wood,
    And burbled as it came!

    One, two! One, two! and through and through
    The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!
    He left it dead, and with its head
    He went galumphing back.

    “And hast thou slain the Jabberwock?
    Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
    O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!”
    He chortled in his joy.

    ‘Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
    Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
    All mimsy were the borogoves,
    And the mome raths outgrabe.

  2. Whoa! That is pretty wild! I like it!
    Is there a key to understanding some of the more unconventional words?

Leave a Reply

