My Top Books Ever

book1

I wanted to do a top 10 all-time favorite books, but after writing all the ones I could think of, going through my bookshelves, and perusing a few top 10 and top 100 book-lists, I discovered a that even though I read constantly,  I am woefully under read. Of a lot of top 100 lists, I have read one or two. That’s pretty bad.

In my lists I want to separate religious books from secular. I also want to list some of the really interesting books I discovered on some of those top 100 lists that look really good.  I’m sure I will leave off some good ones I’ve read that I’ve forgotten about. There’s also a few I can remember reading but I can’t come up with a title. I’ll list the book title first and then the author. I don’t think these will be in order of preference .

Ok. I hope everybody will take some time and check these out  and comment with your favorites.

This was a good  top 100 list I found (not a Maxim-type man site).  Check it out.

http://artofmanliness.com/2008/05/14/100-must-read-books-the-essential-mans-library/4/

Top 7 Spiritual

1) The Bible  Holy Spirit    Read slowly, carefully, and don’t pay too much attention to what other people say that it says. Psalm 119: 72  The Law from Your mouth is more precious to me than  thousands of pieces of silver and gold. Amen

2) What Darwin Didn’t Know    Geoffery Simmons    Superb analysis of the human body by an MD in regard to intelligent design.  Another similar book entitled God Made that deals more with nature would be on my list but I can’t come up with the author’s name. I think it was Issac something.

3) Point Man  Steve Farrar

4) Donald Miller  Searching For God Knows What

5) God is There and He is Not Silent   Francis Schaeffer     Everything he writes is good.  Definitely not casual reading, but well worth the trouble

6)  CS Lewis   Pretty much everything.

7) Your God is too Small    JB Phillips Excellent. A must read for any Christian.

Top 10 Other

1) Encyclopedia of Modern Bodybuilding   Arnold    THE  Bible of   pre 2000 bodybuilding. Period.

2) Biography of Herschel Walker  Author Unknown. Back in 1979, after reading of  Herschel’s daily regiment of 500 push ups, 500 sit ups  and wind sprints ,  this book and that regiment inspired me to a life-long love affair with working out.

3) Gates of Fire  Steven Pressfield  The novel behind the movie 300. As good as the movie is (it IS good C) the book is better.

4) The Science of Hitting  Ted Williams   In depth analysis of hitting a baseball by the greatest hitter to ever walk the earth.  Sorry Barry.

5 ) Lone Survivor  Marcus Luttrell   If you’re a patriot, you gotta read this. Nonfiction about Navy Seals in mountains of Afganastan who paid the price after deciding not to kill local goatherders that discovered their hiding spot.

6) Rainbow Six  Tom Clancy    Have read a couple more Clancy novels but this one is very good.Can’t believe they haven’t made a movie.

7) Point of Impact    Stephen Hunter  The novel behind  the  movie  Shooter. Great book.

8)  Count of Monte Cristo    Alexander Dumas   A favorite from my high school days.

9)  Wizard’s First Rule, Stone of Tears   Terry Goodkind   These are 1st two in the ten- book Sword of Truth series. After these two, the quality dips until about book 6 or 7 then gets better but nothing as good as these.

10) Brave Men, Dark Waters  Orr Kelly   Non-fiction  about Navy Seals. Excellent. Not  as good (but neither are they) but a good one about Delta Force is Inside Delta Force By  Eric Haney.  Also there’s another awesome true account of SEAL bravery and sacrifice:    Robert’s Ridge by Malcolm Mcpherson.

Bulk Series

1)  JRR Tolkien  Enough Said

2) Robert Jordan    Wheel of Time Series,  Conan Series

3) Terry Goodkind   Sword of Truth Series

4) All Far Side Books

5) All Onion Books

Books To Read

Google these for more info:

1) The Looming Tower Lawerence Wright  2) Mayflower  Nathaniel Philbrick 3) The Lost Painting  Jonathan Harr 4)  The Bounty, The True Story   Caroline Alexander  5) The Picture of Dorian Grey   Oscar Wilde  6)The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt   Edmund Morris  7) Blood Meridian  Carmac Macarthy  8)The Art of Warfare  Sun Fzu  9) Undaunted Courage  Stephen Ambrose  10) Paradise Lost   John Milton  11) A River Runs Through It   Norman Maclean  12)  Lives of the Noble Greeks and Romans   Plutarch  13 )The Long Goodbye   Raymond Chandler  14) To Kill a Mockingbird Harper Lee   15)  The Dangerous Book of Boys   Conn Iggulden  16) Autobiography of Ben Franklin

6 Responses to “My Top Books Ever”

  1. Schmoffly Says:

    “Bible- Holy Spirit”

    I mean, it’s true, but it is funny to see. I was perusing the authors…Tolkien, Jordan, Holy Spirit…haha

    Have not read many of your spiritual books. Going through Mere Christianity right now and I am enjoying it. I have tried to read Blood Meridian twice and got interrupted by school. Same thing with Gates of Fire. Now that I am free of school I might try them again. Of course, we are on the same page with Jordan, Goodkind, and Tolkien.

    My List (Written from work so I don’t have my books in front of me…)
    Sandy Koufax: A Lefty Legacy- biography of Sandy Koufax
    The Elfstones of Shannara- Terry Brooks
    The “Chronicles” series of Dragonlance- multiple authors
    The Shadow of the Wind- Carlos Ruiz Zafon
    Jurassic Park I and II, Timeline, Prey- Michael Crichton
    Gunslinger Series- Stephen King (Maybe my fav. series ever- yes, even ahead of Jordan and Goodkind)
    Odyssey/Illiad- Homer

    All I got right now…there may be more, but I can’t remember anymore here at work. PLUS, my lunch break is over.

  2. I forgot about the Gunslinger series.I’m definitely going to check that out.It’s huge though, isn’t it? I have Gates of Fire on MP3 if you want to listen to it or have it.
    If there’s more bring it.

  3. James Hayes Says:

    In no particular order, here are some of my favorite books…

    Celebration of Discipline, Richard Foster
    Twelve Ordinary Men, John MacArthur
    Reviving the Ancient Faith, Richard Hughes
    Slouching Towards Gomorrah, Robert Bork
    The Minister’s Manual, Jim Bill McInteer
    Mere Christianity, Clive Staples Lewis
    Lincoln, David Herbert Donald
    Men At Work, George Will
    Balance, Ira North
    The Rise of Southern Republicans, Earl Black
    Hardball, Chris Matthews
    The Science of the Christian Life, Bill Hybels
    Man of Steel and Velvet, Aubrey Andelin

    Obviously, my reading interests revolve around Christianity, American history and political conservatism. I can’t stand fiction. I’d much rather watch a two-hour movie than spend days and days reading the book.

  4. Donna Moffitt Says:

    In no certain order and not an exhaustive list…
    Tuesdays with Morrie- Mitch Albom
    Ava’s Man- Rick Bragg(I have a signed copy)
    The Color of Water-James McBride (title comes from a biracial child asking his mom what is the color of God. Her response was, “God is the color of water”. I loved that.
    Gilead-Marilynne Robinson (Pulitzer Prize winner-I loved it)
    Brother to a Dragonfly-Will D. Campbell(I also have a signed copy:-))
    Providence-Will D. Campbell (he tracked a one mile plot of land back through American history)
    Legacy of the Heart-The Spiritual Advantages of a Painful Childhood-Wayne Muller (It was a very positive book)
    A Thousand Splendid Suns and The Kite Runner-Khaled Hosseini-more for the fact that they made me think of things I had never thought of or known before-not “feel good” books
    March-Geraldine Brooks(story of a chaplain during the Civi War)
    Daily Readings from C.S. Lewis
    Shadow of the WInd-Carlos Ruis Zafron-(great storytelling)
    To Kill a Mockingbird-Harper Lee

  5. Kelly McCool Riley Says:

    I love the Wheel of Time books, and just started Wizards first Rule on a recommendation. I read the LOTR every year, they are amazing. Mom told me Dad once had those books from when he was young, I wish I knew what happened to them. If you’ve never read Paulo Coelho books I highly recommend them. The Alchemist is by far my favorite. They are all inspiration books. If you like fantasy/folklore then try The Sevenwaters Trilogy by Juliet Marillier.

  6. I was certain I posted and it’s not here. Oh well…

    The Sevenwaters Trilogy by Juliet Marillier
    All books by Paulo Coelho
    Dune by Frank Herbert
    Dragonlance by Tracy Hickman and Margaret Weis also Time of the Twins.

Leave a Reply

